Information on scholarships are posted closer to the deadline. For information, contact the Local's office (780-455-2164)

Murray Jampolsky

The Murray Jampolsky Scholarship, in memory of Dr. Murray Jampolsky, a former Executive member of the Local and President of the Alberta Teachers' Association, is awarded to members that are continuing their education in the field to a maximum of $6,000. A committee consisting of Table Officers and two representatives chosen at a Council of School Representatives’ meeting determine the scholarship recipient(s). The scholarship is payable to the recipient(s) upon proof of enrolment at a recognized Canadian university or post-secondary institution. Murray Jampolsky information is sent out in late November.

Seminar on United Nations and International Affairs (SUNIA) Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded to one Grade 11 student at each Edmonton Public high school. These students are acknowledged at a Council of School Representatives’ meeting in the spring. Schools are contacted in February asking for their nominees.

Education Scholarship

The Local offers an Education Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 for the child of a member of the Edmonton Public Teachers Local No. 37 that is enrolled in their final year of Education at a TQS-approved university. These awards will be determined by random draw. Forms and information are sent to schools in late May.

ATA Educational Trust

The ATA Educational Trust is a unique charitable organization in that it was founded in 1978 by teachers for the professional betterment of teachers and others, who support the goals of public education. For years the Trust has provided grants and bursaries for the improvement of the teaching practice and the teaching profession in Alberta. 

Information on the Trust and how to apply for these opportunities is available on the ATA website.

The ATA offers a number of grants, awards and scholarships in addition to administering the ATA Educational Trust. For more information, visit the ATA website.