2024-2026 Local Executive Committee Election

2024-2026 Executive Committee - Division III (grades 7-9) Representative Election

At the close of nominations at 4:00 pm on Monday, February 5th, an election is required for the position of Division III Representative. Candidate information will be posted here as it becomes available. Voting will take place via an email ballot on March 19th to March 21st.

Division III Candidates

Candidate Forum at the February 21st COR Meeting Videos

Dahlia Holtet
Melissa Morton


Dahlia Holtet teaches French as an Additional Language at Dr. Lila Fahlman School on the south side of Edmonton.  She has been with the division since 2017 and became involved with the local in 2018 first as school rep to CoR and then by serving as the division 3 rep and GETCA liaison on the local 37 Executive Committee.  Dahlia is proud of the efforts made by the Executive Committee and CoR to inform and engage members.  Edmonton teachers proved that we are willing to stand together when it is called for! Dahlia is seeking re-election to further advocate for Public Education and amplify teachers’ voices.

Click here to view Dahlia's poster

Click here to view Dahlia's speech



My name is Melissa Morton, and I am pleased to be running for Division 3 Representative for Local 37’s Executive Committee.

I am an English Language Arts teacher at Dr. Donald Massey School in Northeast Edmonton. I have been teaching for over 20 years and am passionate about supporting teachers and students. Participating in the ATA is one way I can support teachers. Over the past 6 years, I have been a representative of the Council of Representatives (COR), a member of the Local’s Women in Leadership, Mentorship, and Advocacy Committee (WILMA), Chair of the Educational Trust Fund, and member of the Edmonton Area Field Experience Committee (EAFEC). The next step for me in supporting teachers is running for our Local’s Executive Committee.

Communities are always stronger than individuals. As the Division 3 Representative I will work to create opportunities for my colleagues to connect with each other, share ideas and concerns, and ask questions. I will do my best to answer any questions they may have, and if I do not have the answer, I will work hard to find it. I will strive to amplify the voices of Division 3 teachers at the Local level.

I sincerely appreciate the opportunity to run for the Division 3 Representative of our Local’s Executive Committee. I look forward to working with all of you to do what is best for teachers and our students.

Click here to view Melissa's poster

Click here to view Melissa's speech 


2024-2026 Executive Committee Nominations

Below is the chart of nominations received. The 2024-2026 Executive Committee will take office on July 1, 2024.



Heather Quinn

On Leave - EPTL


Vice-President Communications

Karlee Hren

Ellerslie Campus


Vice-President Finance

Waishing Lam

AB Ed Interchange


Vice-President Political Engagement

Kevin McBean



Chair, DEHR Committee

Janice Pinnock

SLS – Diversity


Chair, Member Wellness Committee

Jensen Evtushevski

Florence Hallock


Chair, Professional Development Committee

Carrie Bissoon

John D. Bracco


Chair, Substitute Teachers’ Committee

Baiyinah Syed



Division I Representative

April Bourque



Division II Representative

Jonathan Hemphill

Brander Gardens


Division III Representative

Dahlia Holtet

Dr. Lila Fahlman


Melissa Morton

Dr. Donald Massey

Division IV Representative

Jennifer Bredo

Ross Sheppard


Non School-Based Representative

Richard Svekla

SLS - Newton


Principal Representative

Christina Jones

Svend Hansen


2024-2026 Local Executive Committee Election Candidate Handbook*
*After consultation with the Alberta Teachers' Association, the eligibility statement below has been removed from the Candidate Handbook:
Active members of the Local who are not receiving an Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund pension are eligible to run in Local elections.